Shockers to open MVC tournament with SIU

PHOTO: WSU Sports Information

ST. LOUIS, Mo. – The field for the 2017 Missouri Valley Conference Baseball Championship is set for next week’s event at Hammons Field in Springfield, Mo., hosted by Missouri State University.

Host Missouri State earned its fifth MVC regular-season title after finishing 18-1 in league play, earning the tournament’s top seed. Missouri State will open play against No. 8 Illinois State (2-18 MVC) at 7:30 p.m. (CT) on Wednesday, May 24.  The Redbirds handed the Bears their only conference defeat of the season on Friday afternoon.

DBU is the tournament’s No. 2 seed entering next week’s championship. The defending tournament champion Patriots finished the regular-season with a 15-6 MVC record and will face seventh-seeded Bradley (6-14 MVC) in their opening game at 12:30 PM (CT) Wednesday afternoon.

No. 3 Indiana State (12-9 MVC) will face No. 6 Evansville (8-12 MVC) in Wednesday’s opening game slated for 9:00 a.m. (CT), while No. 4 Southern Illinois (10-10 MVC) will challenge No. 5 Wichita State (10-11 MVC) in Wednesday’s 4:00 p.m. (CT) contest.

Schedule for Wednesday, May 24
Game 1: No. 3 Indiana State vs. No. 6 Evansville, 9 AM (CT)
Game 2: No. 2 DBU vs. No. 7 Bradley, 12:30 PM (CT)
Game 3: No. 4 Southern Illinois vs. No. 5 Wichita State, 4 PM (CT)
Game 4: No. 1 Missouri State vs. No. 8 Illinois State, 7:30 PM (CT)

Follow the Action
Fans can follow the MVC Baseball Championship on The Valley on ESPN3 ( for all games played May 24-27. Indianapolis-based Tupelo-Raycom will produce all 13 (or 15, including if-necessary games) of the tournament for ESPN3.

All games can be seen exclusively live on The Valley on ESPN3. Watch online at, WatchESPN on your computer, tablet or mobile device.

Social Media
Fans can also follow along via several Missouri Valley Conference social media outlets including Twitter (@MVCsports, #MVCBaseball), Facebook ( and Instagram (

Championship Format
For the eighth consecutive season, the 2017 Missouri Valley Conference Baseball Championship will welcome all eight league members to compete for the Valley’s automatic berth to the NCAA Tournament. This year’s format will divide the eight teams into two pods based on regular-season finish (Seeds 1, 4, 5 and 8; Seeds 2, 3, 6 and 7). Each four-team bracket will be a double-elimination format, with the winners squaring off in a one-game championship on Saturday evening.

Games are played at 9:00 a.m., 12:30 p.m., 4:00 p.m. and 7:30 p.m. each of the first three days, two “if necessary” games at 11 a.m. and 3 p.m. on Saturday, with the championship game on Saturday evening at 7 p.m.

All times are listed as Central Time (CT).



Most Popular

To Top